The opposite of anxiety of influence


Sunday, November 24, 2013
mentor salut
Mentor I don’t think I ever really have felt that I had a mentor but the closest I would say I got was my sophomore English teacher who saved my life by encouraging me to write the good poems I did write back then — she sat with me in the preppy Collegiate hallway where boys walked by to talk to more boy-approved girls, while we discussed Baudelaire, Frost, Keats, my poem about my parents awful marriage that I wrote at age 15. She encouraged me to feel and I had a big mess of a family that I was dealing with (but had blocked out the worst of it which came thru in metaphors)–and thus encouraged me to heal, thru the poetic form. Thank you always, Mrs. Jody Lewis, with your thesis in Faulkner and your support of my creative gifts.

Leave a Reply

